Friday, August 23rd, 2019

Music Producers Guild Awards 2012

By editorFebruary 21, 2012

Laura Marling at the MPG Awards

The annual Music Producers Guild Awards took place at the Café de Paris in London on 16 Feb where the event once again attracted a high turnout of music industry VIPs and celebrities.

In total, 17 Awards were presented (see below for a full list of winners). The relationship between artist and recording professional is often close and this was highlighted by the number of artists who attended the ceremony to present their producer with an award.  Among them were Mark Ronson, Laura Marling, Mumford & Sons, The Duke Spirit and Wretch 32. Others who were not able to attend in person sent video messages of support.

The top award for Producer of the Year – which also earned its winner a BRIT Award for Best Producer – went to Ethan Johns, who has recently worked with the Kaiser Chiefs, The Cold Still and Laura Marling, who attended the ceremony to present Johns with both his Music Producers Guild and BRIT Awards.


Ethan Johns, MPG Producer Of The Year 2012

Other award recipients included Beggars Group Founder and Chairman Martin Mills, who won the Outstanding Contribution to UK Music Award and internationally acclaimed producer Steve Lillywhite, who won the coveted Joe Meek Legacy Award.

The Music Producers Guild also presented a Special Recognition Award to producer Martin Rushent, who passed away in 2011. Rushent was remembered for his outstanding work with artists such as the Stranglers, the Human League and the Buzzcocks. Following the presentation, Martin Rushent’s family announced the formation of The Martin Rushent Foundation, a music charity that will be launched this summer with a festival inBerkshire.

Designed to recognises the skill and talents of music recording professionals and the contribution they make to the UK music industry, the Music Producers Guild Awards are now firmly established as a ‘must attend’ event on the music industry calendar. Hosted by BBC 6 Music’s Nemone Metaxas, this year’s Awards were once again a complete sell-out.  Steve Levine, chairman of the Music Producers Guild, says: “Our Awards shine a spotlight on the important contribution recording professionals make to theUKmusic industry and theUKeconomy. The fact that this event is always so well supported indicates the value the wider music industry puts on the work recording professional do. Audio professionals have a unique place at the very heart of the music industry. As true independents, we have an important role to play in supporting and guiding the artistic creation that is the lifeblood of our industry. We are delighted that, once again, the Music Producers Guild Awards has been so enthusiastically received by such an illustrious audience.”

The full list of winners is as follows: 


Producer of The Year – sponsored by the BPI and the BRITS 2012: Ethan Johns

Shortlist: Paul Epworth, Flood, Ethan Johns

Recording Engineer of The Year – sponsored by Prism Sound: Geoff Foster

Shortlist: Dan Austin, Haydn Bendall, Geoff Foster

Mix Engineer of The Year – sponsored by Solid State Logic: Tom Elmhirst

Shortlist: Dave Bascombe, Tom Elmhirst, Mark ‘Spike’ Stent

Mastering Engineer of The Year: Mandy Parnell – sponsored by Radial Engineering:

Shortlist: John Dent, Mandy Parnell, Ray Staff

International Producer of the Year – sponsored by British Grove Studios: Butch Vig

Shortlist: T-Bone Burnett, Dimitri Tikovoi, Butch Vig

International Engineer of the Year – sponsored by Focusrite: Andrew Scheps

Shortlist: Andrew Scheps, Jonathan Shakhovskoy, Gus Oberg

Live Production of The Year – sponsored by Shure: Radio Head – Live in Praha

Shortlist: Jools Holland TV Series, Radiohead – Live in Praha, The Who – Live at Leeds/Hull

UK Album of The Year (2011) – sponsored by Universal Audio: PJ Harvey – Let England Shake

Shortlist: Adele – 21, Everything, Everything – Man Alive, PJ Harvey – Let England Shake

UK Single of The Year (2011) – sponsored by Air Entertainment Group: Adele – Rolling In The Deep

Shortlist: Adele – Rolling In The Deep, Noah & The Whale – l.i.f.e.g.o.e.s.o.n, Anna Calvi – Desire

The Joe Meek Legacy Award – sponsored by PMI Audio: Steve Lillywhite

Re-mixer of The Year – sponsored by Novation: Jamie xx

Shortlist: James Rutledge, Jamie xx, Starsmith (Finlay Dow-Smith)

Breakthrough Producer of The Year – sponsored by Deep Recording Studios: Yogi

Shortlist: Stevan Krakovic, James Rutledge, Yogi

Breakthrough Engineer of The Year – sponsored by Genelec: Tom Morris

Shortlist: George Apsion, Tom Morris, Lee Slater

Studio of the Year – sponsored by The Mic Store: Eastcote Studios

Shortlist: Air, Eastcote, Rak, Snap

Outstanding Contribution to UK Music – sponsored by PPL: Martin Mills

Unsung Hero – sponsored by Alchemea: Crispin Murray

Special Recognition Award – supported by BPI: Martin Rushent

Share on Facebook
Share on LinkedIn
Tweet about this on Twitter
Email this to someone
share with your friends

© audio times 2018. All rights reserved.

Website by Small Business Marketing